KatieDidVegan

A day in the life of an animal-loving foodie

Hello world!

on December 27, 2011

Everyone has a blog nowadays, so I thought I better get crackin’!  A little about me.  I’m a Midwestern girl who moved to El Paso for a job…it didn’t work out.  There was a 6 month probation period that was going smoothly until I got injured…2 weeks before my probation ended.  It was a very physical job, so rather than waiting for the diagnosis ( I was fully healed in a week) they decided to cut their losses and can me.  I went from having a pretty BA job, to working part-time at the local Old Navy.  It’s not fun, if you were wondering 😉  So, with a degree in Animal Sciences, and experience with zookeeping and being a vet tech, I’m back on the job market.  I would love to end up in Austin, San Antonio, or Dallas….El Paso is AWFUL!  They have a terrible view of animals, refuse to spay and neuter their pets, and sneer at the word “vegan.”  I do realize I moved to Texas, but it’s not all barbeque and trucks here 🙂

Anyway, I’d like a place to be a foodie, a gossip, or a mentor.  I guess I’ll post about whatever, and add some of my favorite resources.  Let me know if you have questions, suggestions, or if you think I’m out of line.  More to Come…

 

3 responses to “Hello world!

  1. I cannot even imagine living in Texas with my world views. I’m so sorry your job didn’t work out. 😦 I don’t have the balls to leave my midwestern hell, nor the finances. I hope you can find something else rewarding in your neck of the woods! Whereabouts from the midwest do you hail from? I’m stuck here in the far west Chicago suburbs. I love the city, but suburban living isn’t exactly for me–at least not here in the flat plains. I’d love to have an ocean nearby…or at least some mountainous terrain!

    • Texas was definitely a bit of a culture shock for me. I’m from the Northern suburbs of Chicago. I went to UIUC downstate and then interned at Brookfield Zoo…I actually came to Texas to be an Elephant keeper thinking I could make a difference in the way they’re treated, but the system is really hard to break into. Especially here with the “cowboy” mentality. One of the other keepers was actually a big-game hunter who wanted to mount animal heads in the elephant barn…Psycho. He kept an ankus (bull-hook) at his house as a trophy of the “good ole elephant beating days.” Anyway, I do miss the water, because Lake Michigan used to be my compass-literally. I always knew what direction I was facing because I could picture the lake! It’s a little disorienting being without it. Well, I’m hoping El Paso will soon be a distant memory and I can move on to bigger and better things. I wouldn’t rule out Texas as a whole; I know Austin and San Antonio are beautiful and open-minded!

      • Whoa. Consider my mind blown. That is SO cool that you are pursuing your dream to work with elephants. I tip my hat to you. What a down-home cowboy asshat–an ankus? For real? How do you handle that? I try not to spout off to people, especially when I know they’re set in their ways, because I am not a confrontational person–but damn! I don’t think I’d be able to keep my mouth shut around somebody like that!

Leave a Reply

