KatieDidVegan

A day in the life of an animal-loving foodie

Skinny Bitch Butternut Squash Ravioli

on January 5, 2012

  First an update on that pizza I made last week.  ORGANIZATION is very important in a kitchen, and something I’m still working on.  When I dove into the freezer to grab some frozen Follow Your Heart Vegan Mozzarella, I actually grabbed a bag of frozen coconut shreds!  I had no idea, and it got mixed in with some fresh mozzarella, so I didn’t know until it came out of the oven all toasted!  I’ll tell you, it didn’t ruin the pizza!  It was from a coconut that I had opened a month or so ago, not the sweetened kind that you get in the baking aisle.  It actually added a really interesting flavor!  I wouldn’t have tried it had I known, but it does make me wonder if I should try a pineapple/coconut pizza in the future…

 

Anyway, my parents were here visiting this week from Chicago, and my sister had gotten me the Skinny Bitch Ultimate Everyday Cookbook.  I wanted to try out the Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage Sauce, and it seemed like a perfect dish for omnivores, so I gave it a shot.  It was SO EASY!  And delicious, although not that great for you, really.  You can make your own pasta, which they have a recipe for, but they also mention you can pick up wonton wrappers at your local grocery store.  I tried Sprouts, but they didn’t have any, so I had to go to the dreaded Walmart.  I hate Walmart for so many reasons, but they HAD the wonton wrappers.  There were about 48 in a package for $2.75, in the produce section.  Perfect.

You need 2 cups roasted butternut Squash (you can buy this frozen, but I just peel and dice the squash and roast it on a cookie sheet at 400 F for 35 min)

1 1/2 sticks of Earth Balance

1/2 Cup Panko breadcrumbs (and she actually suggests using Panko instead of Ezekial bread or other kinds of home-made breadcrumbs)

1/2 Cup Vegan Parmesan

salt and pepper to taste

Wonton wrappers (Her’s were huge, mine were smaller store-bought ones)

I bunch fresh sage with stems removed

So you blend or food process the squash and 1/2 stick of Earth Balance until smooth, then mix in a bowl with the breadcrumbs, Parmesan, and seasoning.  Then you just spoon a teaspoon of the mixture into the center of a noodle, wet the edges, and fold over to seal.    You boil them for 5-6 minutes, and the sauce is just melted Earth Balance sauteed with the sage.  They were awesome 🙂

Highly recommended.  And once you know how to make ravioli, you can put ANYTHING into it, and use a butter sauce, like this, or a marinara…whatever.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

